I Interview Cynthia Cruz @ The Rumpus

“Cruz: Well, regarding the “big, mythological words living next door to convenience store words,” the idea, in other words, of incorporating both the “high” and the “low” in my work: I love to do this, have always done this, exhibit this in my own life, and am a product of this. For example, when I was a child and we didn’t have much money but still, my parents saved up so we could go to the ballet in San Francisco, my mother still brought us to museums, and they saved their money all year round so we could travel to Europe summers. So I experienced beauty and what would be considered “high culture” from a very young age despite the fact that we didn’t have much. I grew up with piles of fashion magazines on our living room floor and so I saw, early on, the possibilities: haute couture, fantasy, art, painting, literature—it was all in these European fashion magazines my mother brought home. So, though I was growing up in a Northern California beach town (beaches, bikinis, skateboarding, etc.), I had access to this other end of the spectrum.”

 

http://therumpus.net/2012/08/the-rumpus-interview-with-cynthia-cruz/

One thought on “I Interview Cynthia Cruz @ The Rumpus

  1. Hi there! I’m the asst. music editor for the Rumpus, and I was just looking for a place where I could tell you how much I enjoy your reviews/editors. We seem to have similar tastes in books, so know that I’m keeping an eye out for your work. 🙂

Leave a Reply

